The Resource Love and reruns in Adams County : a novel, Mark Spencer

Love and reruns in Adams County : a novel, Mark Spencer

Label
Love and reruns in Adams County : a novel
Title
Love and reruns in Adams County
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Mark Spencer
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In 1985, Lon Peterson returns to West Union, Ohio, after failing out of the minor leagues. His ex-wife, ex-cheerleader Pamela, has already come back to town and launched her career at McDonald's. Her new husband, Bobby, plays with "antique" toys he's supposed to be selling, watches game shows, and spends lunch hours with Becky Diane from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Lon himself moves on to younger girls who recognize him from his photo, which sits in the trophy case at West Union High, and he tries his hand at selling real estate, dressed in his only suit, the green one he got married in. Mark Spencer illuminates their world - a landscape of cheap motels, trailer parks, and fast-food joints littered with smalltown minds and flimsy dreams. He explores the lives, eccentricities, and strange interrelationships of Lon and Pamela, their friends, lovers, and enemies, with piercing insight, sensitivity, and humor. Like his oddly endearing characters, Spencer sees a lightness in the wreckage. In the tradition of Raymond Carver and Bobbie Ann Mason, Love and Reruns in Adams County is a quirky, compulsively readable story. In his debut novel, Mark Spencer proves himself an exciting presence in American fiction. Mark Spencer teaches writing at Cameron University
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1956-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Spencer, Mark
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3569.P4536
LC item number
L68 1994
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Poor
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Divorced people
  • Ohio
  • Adams County (Ohio)
Label
Love and reruns in Adams County : a novel, Mark Spencer
Link
http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/description/random0412/93022126.html
Instantiates
Publication
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
265 p.
Isbn
9780449908990
Lccn
93022126
System control number
  • 1224413-01okla_normanlaw
  • (SIRSI)1224413
  • (Sirsi) o28256122
  • (OCoLC)28256122
Label
Love and reruns in Adams County : a novel, Mark Spencer
Link
http://catdir.loc.gov/catdir/description/random0412/93022126.html
Publication
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
265 p.
Isbn
9780449908990
Lccn
93022126
System control number
  • 1224413-01okla_normanlaw
  • (SIRSI)1224413
  • (Sirsi) o28256122
  • (OCoLC)28256122

Library Locations

  • Architecture LibraryBorrow it
    Gould Hall 830 Van Vleet Oval Rm. 105, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.205706 -97.445050
  • Bizzell Memorial LibraryBorrow it
    401 W. Brooks St., Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.207487 -97.447906
  • Boorstin CollectionBorrow it
    401 W. Brooks St., Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.207487 -97.447906
  • Chinese Literature Translation ArchiveBorrow it
    401 W. Brooks St., RM 414, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.207487 -97.447906
  • Engineering LibraryBorrow it
    Felgar Hall 865 Asp Avenue, Rm. 222, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.205706 -97.445050
  • Fine Arts LibraryBorrow it
    Catlett Music Center 500 West Boyd Street, Rm. 20, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.210371 -97.448244
  • Harry W. Bass Business History CollectionBorrow it
    401 W. Brooks St., Rm. 521NW, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.207487 -97.447906
  • History of Science CollectionsBorrow it
    401 W. Brooks St., Rm. 521NW, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.207487 -97.447906
  • John and Mary Nichols Rare Books and Special CollectionsBorrow it
    401 W. Brooks St., Rm. 509NW, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.207487 -97.447906
  • Library Service CenterBorrow it
    2601 Technology Place, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.185561 -97.398361
  • Price College Digital LibraryBorrow it
    Adams Hall 102 307 West Brooks St., Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.210371 -97.448244
  • Western History CollectionsBorrow it
    Monnet Hall 630 Parrington Oval, Rm. 300, Norman, OK, 73019, US
    35.209584 -97.445414
Processing Feedback ...